Eco International

Success Story: MSD Animal Health

MSD Krems Produktion
© MSD Österreich

The bio-pharmacy giant MSD invests 400 Mio. € in a state-of-the-art production plant in Lower Austria. Plant lead Dr Martin Kern was kind to answer our questions.

Who is MSD?

MSD (known as Merck & Co Inc. in USA and Canada) is a leading global biopharmaceutical company with headquarter in New Jersey, USA. The company employs 74.000 people, operates in 150 countries and generated a turnover of 48 billion Dollars in 2020. With a strong focus on science, prevention, and innovation, MSD invests more than 25% of their annual revenue in research and development for their pharmaceuticals, vaccines, health management solutions and services as well as an extensive suite of digitally connected identification, traceability and monitoring products.

After decades of successfully operating in Austria, the company decided to invest in a second Austrian production facility. MSD Animal Health acquired a site in Krems, Lower Austria, and founded the “MSD AH Danube Biotech GmbH” in 2017.

Today – four years later – Site Director and General Manger, Dr Martin Kern, took the time to answer our questions about the background and current status of that exciting project and to provide a brief outlook on the future of the MSD Animal Health site in Krems.

MSD Austria Martin Kern
© MSD Österreich

Dr. Kern, why did MSD finally decide on the location in Lower Austria / Krems?

“The unique opportunity for MSD was the possibility of acquiring a pharmaceutical production site, that was built for the production of antigens and vaccines, with the basic infrastructure and supply systems already developed. In addition, the larger part of the production building was still not developed, however, did meet the space requirements for the installation of our production platforms of bacterial and viral antigens as well as vaccine compounding.

Which factors were particularly decisive?

“Austria, known as a politically and economically stable European and EU country, was an important factor to drive the decision as well as the unique situation we found in Krems. A small town, compared internationally, equipped with a very good infrastructure and the availability of well-skilled labour driven by the medical and biotech focus of the University (IMC FH Krems) as well as the Lower Austrian ECOPLUS network. The size of Krems also enables quick and good cooperation with local authorities as well as the competent bodies at the Lower Austrian government. Certainly, when you execute a project of an investment size of approx. 400 million EUR, there is a significant administrative workload regarding submissions to authorities and getting the required authorizations. In Krems and in Lower Austria we felt very welcome from the very beginning and we experienced great support by authorities and the city of Krems. “

How many employees does MSD Animal Health currently have at the site in Krems?

“Per today we have 195 Employees and additional 26 contractors’ employees permanently working at site. Considering that we started at zero in August 2017, I feel very proud about the organisation we were able to establish. The pandemic impacted the progress in our projects and that also resulted in deferral of recruitment accordingly. At year end 2021, we expect to have approx. 230 employees on board.”

How many jobs are to be created in total at the site in Krems?

“In total we plan with 300 – 350 employees, where the variance depends on the shift-pattern we will need to implement. The new and modern process installations, utilities and equipment come with a high degree of automation, which affects the respective job profiles in manufacturing compared to the experience we have at the other sites in the MSD network.”

MSD Krems Außenaufnahme
© MSD Österreich

Has the announced start of production in 2020 been satisfactory?

“The pandemic has impacted the timelines of our projects and the start-up of the new installations significantly. We face a delay of approx. 6 months and should be able to mitigate all resulting challenges by end of this year.”

Is the full commissioning of the production facility in 2025 still on track?

“The capital projects will be completed by the end of next year (2022). What follows, is a large number of product transfers out of our MSD-network to Krems, which will require submissions to change and modify the existing health authority registrations for these products. In 2025, we will be able to have a considerable number of approvals granted, allowing a first significant volume of products getting channelled through our supply chain.”

Another successful investment project with a promising future in Lower Austria.
We thank Dr. Martin Kern for sharing MSD’s success story with us.

Are you still looking for the right location in Lower Austria to expand your business?
We will be happy to go through your settlement plans with you, review market requirements and draw up location proposals tailored to your needs. We provide you with optimal networking and support at the research hot-spots in Lower Austria.

Contact us today via invest@ecoplus.at, or +43 664 601 19721 – our service is free of charge!

Start your
invest story

Book a consultation
by email now.

Research in
Lower Austria

Eco Invest

Success Story: MSD Tiergesundheit

MSD Krems Produktion
© MSD Österreich

Der Bio-Pharma-Riese MSD investiert 400 Mio. € in eine hochmoderne Produktionsstätte in Niederösterreich. Werksleiter Dr. Martin Kern stand uns Rede und Antwort.

Wer ist MSD?

MSD (in den USA und Kanada als Merck & Co Inc. bekannt) ist einer der führenden globalen Bio-Pharmakonzerne mit Hauptsitz in New Jersey, USA. Das Unternehmen beschäftigt 74.000 Mitarbeiter, ist in 150 Ländern tätig und erwirtschaftete im Jahr 2020 einen Umsatz von 48 Milliarden US-Dollar. Mit einem starken Fokus auf Wissenschaft, Prävention und Innovation investiert MSD mehr als 25% des Jahresumsatzes in die Forschung und Entwicklung seiner Arzneimittel, Impfstoffe, Gesundheitsmanagement-Lösungen und -Dienstleistungen sowie eine umfangreiche Palette an digital vernetzten Identifikations-, Rückverfolgbarkeits- und Überwachungsprodukten.

Nach jahrzehntelanger, erfolgreicher Tätigkeit in Österreich hat sich das Unternehmen entschlossen, in einen zweiten österreichischen Produktionsstandort zu investieren. MSD Tiergesundheit erwarb ein Firmengelände in Krems, Niederösterreich, und gründete 2017 die „MSD AH Danube Biotech GmbH“.

Heute – vier Jahre später – nahm sich Manager und Werkseiter Dr. Martin Kern die Zeit, unsere Fragen zu den Hintergründen und dem aktuellen Stand dieses spannenden Projekts zu beantworten und einen kurzen Ausblick auf die Zukunft des MSD Tiergesundheit Standorts in Krems zu geben.

MSD Austria Martin Kern
© MSD Österreich

Herr Dr. Kern, warum hat sich MSD schließlich für den Standort in Niederösterreich / Krems entschieden?

„Es gab für MSD die einmalige Gelegenheit, eine pharmazeutische Produktionsstätte zu erwerben, die für die Produktion von Antigenen und Impfstoffen gebaut wurde und deren grundlegende Infrastruktur und Versorgungssysteme bereits entwickelt waren. Darüber hinaus war der größere Teil des Produktionsgebäudes noch nicht ausgebaut, hat aber den Platzbedarf für die Installation unserer Produktionsplattformen für bakterielle und virale Antigene sowie für die Impfstoffmischung erfüllt.“

Welche Faktoren waren besonders ausschlaggebend?

„Österreich, bekannt als politisch und wirtschaftlich stabiles europäisches Land der EU, war ein wichtiger Faktor für die Entscheidung, ebenso wie die einzigartige Lage in Krems. Eine im internationalen Vergleich kleine Stadt, ausgestattet mit einer interessanten Infrastruktur und der Verfügbarkeit von gut ausgebildeten Arbeitskräften, angetrieben durch den Medizin- und Biotech-Schwerpunkt der Hochschule (IMC FH Krems) sowie das niederösterreichische ECOPLUS-Netzwerk. Die Größe von Krems ermöglicht auch eine rasche und gute Zusammenarbeit mit den örtlichen Behörden sowie den zuständigen Stellen beim Amt der NÖ Landesregierung. Sicher, wenn man ein Projekt mit einem Investitionsvolumen von ca. 400 Mio. EUR durchführt, gibt es einen erheblichen administrativen Aufwand in Bezug auf Einreichungen bei Behörden und Einholung der erforderlichen Genehmigungen. In Krems und in Niederösterreich haben wir uns von Anfang an sehr willkommen gefühlt und große Unterstützung durch Behörden und die Stadt Krems erfahren. „

Wie viele Mitarbeiter hat MSD Animal Health derzeit am Standort in Krems?

„Zum heutigen Stand haben wir 195 Mitarbeiter und zusätzlich 26 Arbeitskräfte von Fremdfirmen, die permanent am Standort arbeiten. Wenn man bedenkt, dass wir im August 2017 bei Null angefangen haben, bin ich sehr stolz auf die Organisation, die wir aufbauen konnten. Die Pandemie hat den Fortschritt in unseren Projekten beeinträchtigt, was auch zu einer entsprechenden Verschiebung der Einstellungen geführt hat. Zum Jahresende 2021 werden wir voraussichtlich ca. 230 Mitarbeiter an Bord haben.“

Wie viele Arbeitsplätze sollen insgesamt am Standort in Krems entstehen?

„Insgesamt rechnen wir mit 300 – 350 Mitarbeitern, wobei die Varianz von dem Schichtmuster abhängt, das umgesetzt werden muss. Die neuen und modernen Prozessanlagen, Betriebsmittel und Ausrüstungen bringen einen hohen Automatisierungsgrad mit sich, was sich auf die jeweiligen Jobprofile in der Fertigung auswirkt, auch im Vergleich zu den Erfahrungen, die wir an den anderen Standorten im MSD-Netzwerk haben.“

MSD Krems Außenaufnahme
© MSD Österreich

Ist der angekündigte Produktionsstart im Jahr 2020 zufriedenstellend verlaufen?

„Die Pandemie hat die Zeitpläne unserer Projekte und den Start der neuen Anlagen erheblich beeinträchtigt. Wir sehen uns mit einer Verzögerung von ca. 6 Monaten konfrontiert und sollten in der Lage sein, alle daraus resultierenden Herausforderungen bis Ende dieses Jahres zu entschärfen.“

Ist die vollständige Inbetriebnahme der Produktionsanlage im Jahr 2025 noch auf Kurs?

„Die Investitionsprojekte werden bis Ende des nächsten Jahres (2022) abgeschlossen sein. Was folgt, ist eine große Anzahl von Produkttransfers aus unserem MSD-Netzwerk nach Krems, die eine Einreichungen zur Änderung und Modifizierung der bestehenden Gesundheitsbehördenregistrierungen für diese Produkte erfordern. Im Jahr 2025 werden wir in der Lage sein, eine beträchtliche Anzahl von Zulassungen zu erhalten, so dass ein erstes signifikantes Volumen an Produkten durch unsere Lieferkette geschleust werden kann.“

Ein weiteres erfolgreiches Investitionsprojekt mit einer vielversprechenden Zukunft in Niederösterreich. Wir danken Dr. Martin Kern, dass er die Erfolgs Geschichte von MSD mit uns geteilt hat.

Sind Sie noch auf der Suche nach dem richtigen Standort in Niederösterreich, um Ihr Unternehmen zu erweitern?

Gerne gehen wir Ihre Ansiedlungspläne mit Ihnen durch, prüfen die Marktanforderungen und erarbeiten auf Ihre Bedürfnisse zugeschnittene Standortvorschläge. Wir bieten Ihnen optimale Vernetzung und Unterstützung an den Forschungs-Hotspots in Niederösterreich.

Kontaktieren Sie uns noch heute via invest@ecoplus.at, or +43 664 601 19721 – unser Service ist für Sie kostenlos!

Start your
invest story

Book a consultation
by email now.

Forschung in Niederösterreich